Page 1 of 1 [ 2 posts ] 

EmileMulder
Toucan
Toucan

08 Aug 2015, 12:16 am

Hi everyone, I'm a psychologist specializing in ASD. I want to develop some trainings for teens and adults on the spectrum on how to use social media safely to build and maintain relationships with others. I have a few ideas already on topics to discuss, but I thought I'd ask if any of you had any:
-Tips for newbies - things that maybe weren't obvious to you at first, but you wish someone had told you.
-Horror stories - things that happened (mistakes you made, or people who hurt you in some way on social media).
-Suggestions for other important topics
-Resources - that you may have found particularly helpful in learning to use social media effectively.

I'd also love some feedback if anyone has any about the topics I plan to cover. Here are some:
Advantages / importance of social media
- Part of my audience will be parents of teens with ASD, so I want to discuss how excluding your child from social media may potentially handicap them socially. Social media presence is increasingly an important part of maintaining friendships. Opting out may mean opting out of friendships, party invitations, romantic relationships, etc.

Safety
- Verifying people's identity to avoid scammers
- Avoiding/dealing with cyberbullies
- Avoiding saying things that could get you in trouble with law enforcement
- Recognizing that some things you post may stick around and may have future consequences for employment, friendships, etc.
- Essentially you have to know your audience, and often your audience is different and much larger than you would think.

Social skills
- Understanding the other user's experience - if you 'like' 50 posts in someone's history all at once, their feed will show a flood of your name, which they may interpret as annoying, or creepy stalking behavior.