Extreme difficulty contacting manager when needed

Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

jlgreen28
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

16 Aug 2015, 8:42 pm

I am a Premise Technician for AT&T, installing Uverse. I've been doing this for about 20 months now and there are many aspects I really enjoy about the job. However, this means I'm out on my own all day and sometimes spending hours at a time at a customers house getting their service up and running.

There can be a lot of things to this job that are difficult but the biggest one, communicating with my manager, has now become a major problem and I am now on a 9 month performance notice which, if violated, could escalate to termination.

I don't know if anyone knows what it's like being a Prem Tech for AT&T, but it can be very demanding and challenging. The good thing is that there are very specific guidelines for every process and procedure that I have to do. But, reality is not black and white as words on a page and more often times than not, exceptions arise where I am unable to follow some of the processes and procedures. This is the point I must contact my manager. Just to inform him. Even if I damage someone house or completly mess things up...it's ok as long as he knows. Seems like such a simple task... but instead, I try to figure it out myself or work around the obstacle, or worse, try to cover it up, in order to complete the job.

I don't quite understand why it is so difficult to just give him a call. I really need some kind of advise or maybe a different way of thinking about it...something...any input would be appreciated.

Thanks.

jlgreen28
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

18 Aug 2015, 8:28 pm

Well...ending getting sent home today, with pay, to consider whether I want to continue working this job or not. Of course I do! WHY IS IT SO DAMN HARD TO COMMUNICATE!!
Just sick of it all...

LillaA
Blue Jay
Blue Jay

18 Aug 2015, 8:33 pm