I'm expected to be or I want to be, but I'm not very good at it. 2%  2%  [ 1 ]
Not really. 29%  29%  [ 12 ]
I run from competitive situations. Or hide. 22%  22%  [ 9 ]
Total votes : 41

Edenthiel
Veteran
Veteran

10 Sep 2015, 6:59 pm

I've noticed that my AS daughter is highly competitive, even though it causes her incredible amounts of stress and over-stimulation, both internally and by pushing her into bad stimulus environments. I don't know if I'd be that way, as I had an exceedingly structured & controlled environment as a child & once I was broken, repressed most of who I was. So, I'm wondering if you consider yourself (or other people tell you you are) highly competitive, if it works for you and if it causes stress, how you accommodate or avoid it.

pete1061
Veteran
Veteran

10 Sep 2015, 7:05 pm

I think it might be part of autistic "taking things too seriously".
Some of us pick up on the huge competition theme in modern media and go overboard in our heads.

Diagnosed in 2005

nurseangela
Veteran
Veteran

10 Sep 2015, 7:12 pm

I'm very competitive - came in handy during nursing school. However, I didn't pick "always must win" because I'm also a realist and know it's impossible to always be #1. When I don't win I'm my own worst enemy because I dwell on it excessively and what I did wrong that made me not win. I don't quit. I will keep at it until I get the desired result - which sometimes has taken years.

Your neurodiverse (Aspie) score: 83 of 200
Your neurotypical (non-autistic) score: 153 of 200 You are very likely neurotypical
Darn, I flunked.

Crazyfool
Velociraptor
Velociraptor

10 Sep 2015, 7:16 pm