Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

JJabb
Blue Jay
Blue Jay

14 Oct 2015, 6:54 pm

Ok so I am studying for my LPIC1 exam so I can start making my way out of my current career and into a Linux based career. I am currently using Ubuntu and have gotten pretty officiant with the system and dangerous enough with the ins and outs of the Distrobution. I was thinking about changing distros to a more learning friendly (and by that I mean its expected that I set up more than just installing flash). While I think Ubuntu is an AMAZING introductory distro, I would like something more intense. I have heard many good things about Fedora and Black Lab Linux since both are said to be more professional. I am hoping to tackle Arch sometime but I am just no there yet.

Does anyone have any suggestions or favorites that a learning user should try? I am not a novice but there are plenty of people who know a heck of a lot more than I. But I am always looking to learn. Of course I am going to run everything through my Virtualbox for a bit before making the plunge.

Rudin
Veteran
Veteran

14 Oct 2015, 7:47 pm

You should try Debian or Slackware next. They are fairly easy to use, but a bit more intense than Ubuntu.

-Paul Erdos

"There are two types of cryptography in this world: cryptography that will stop your kid sister from looking at your files, and cryptography that will stop major governments from reading your files."

-Bruce Schneider

Edenthiel
Veteran
Veteran

14 Oct 2015, 8:19 pm

Rudin wrote:
You should try Debian or Slackware next. They are fairly easy to use, but a bit more intense than Ubuntu.