When does a Interest become a “Special Interest”?

Page 1 of 2 [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Rocket123
Veteran
Veteran

22 Nov 2015, 8:39 pm

I work in the tech industry. I seem to have a “knack” for analyzing and constructing systems. I regularly work with both software systems and people systems. When I am not at work, generally all I think about are the systems I am constructing and how to make them better. In many ways, it’s like trying to solve a really difficult -- and sometimes impossible -- puzzle.

The other day, I began to wonder whether my work is an Interest, an Obsession or a “Special Interest”.

Also, I began to wonder how many people have their work as a “Special Interest”.

shlaifu
Veteran
Veteran

22 Nov 2015, 9:31 pm

'Special interest' and 'obsession' are interchangeable, but obsession sounds very unhealthy to the parents of a newly diagnosed child.

And: I just decided to quit engaging in my special interest for tonight, because it's 3 am and a sunday night (and I completely forgot to get tired by myself). Then again, it's also my work, so I'll get back to it tomorrow.
According to some research quoted somewhere I read earlier today, only 13% of the people questioned actually liked their job.
I guess there you have the difference between regular work-interest, and aspie special interest exemplified in one anecdote and one very unverified citation.

Mesecond
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

04 Dec 2015, 1:03 pm

My spouse's special interest is dogs. She spends 80% of her non work life with our dogs. She does agility, obedience, etc. She also teaches dog classes after work as a science researcher.

All of the dogs are on medication - two on Prozac, one on anxiety meds. All are rescues.

We bought an RV so she is able to attend trials. She told me if she could she would do dog stuff and not work.

Her home office has 200 ribbons and 50 pictures that are all dog related. She has a closet stuffed with more ribbons, dog toys, etc.