Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

SeReavs
Hummingbird
Hummingbird

16 Mar 2016, 6:45 pm

Hello, everyone.

I am new to these forums, and I am still learning the ropes and bounds around here, so please bear with me.

I have attempted to talk about my own personal laundry list of social issues on the Social Anxiety forums yesterday, but I have grown impatient and desperate that I wanted to share my details here and hope that someone will be able to reach out and help me out. I will essentially be reposting what I posted over there, same username and all.

I wish I can precisely pinpoint down how long i've been dealing with my social anxiety, what all of my symptoms are, and how I can rationalize all of it, but I will do the best that I can to list out all of the factors that surround it and probably why I decided to come to these forums.

I was diagnosed with Asperger's Syndrome at a fairly young age. I had trouble concentrating in the classroom, and I had a hard time coping with my classmates. Fortunately, special ed programs in grade school and therapy have helped fixed most of that, but I still have that in mind as a personal factor, especially when it comes to trying to properly socialize and being extremely cautious of social cues.

I DO know that I have struggled with anxiety throughout a huge chunk of my life. Whether it be stuck in elementary school and not liking the other kids making fun of me, to feeling trapped and restricted in a college dorm, struggling to socialize with others and putting myself out there, but ending up with very little payoff and exhaustion, to boot.