Can you be asked to not tell people at work your autistic?

Page 1 of 2 [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Mbowx
Yellow-bellied Woodpecker

02 Jun 2016, 7:11 pm

If you've been successfully doing your job for a number of years and then get a aspergers diagnosis, is it ok for your employer to suggest you keep to yourself, just in case they lose business if people find out a believe that you aren't able to to do the job? Does it change things if you lead a team of people who look after severely traumatised children?

I would love to hear the views of others. I can see both sides of the argument but lean towards individual freedom.

Fnord
Veteran
Veteran

02 Jun 2016, 7:46 pm

It seems like good advice to me. Then again, I've been successful doing my job for a number of years and then got an Asperger's diagnosis. I'm an electrical engineer, and my co-workers think of me as eccentric. If I was to "come out" to them, it is likely that they would think of me as either crazy or ret*d, or both. I can't risk that.

No love for Hamas, Hezbollah, Iranian Leadership, Islamic Jihad, other Islamic terrorist groups, OR their supporters and sympathizers.

kraftiekortie
Veteran
Veteran

02 Jun 2016, 7:59 pm

Why do you want to tell people you're Aspergian/Autistic. Is there some activist purpose?

If you do desire to take on the "activist" role, make sure your job is SECURE, and make sure you're indispensable to the company.

Mbowx

02 Jun 2016, 8:23 pm