Page 1 of 2 [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

For The Love Of All Cats
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

09 Aug 2016, 8:10 pm

Hello,

I have my drivers test next Wenesday, and I am SO nervous. I'm pretty good overall, but I'm really needing to work on small details, and I'm afraid that's what will fail me. Some things are
~ Not looking both ways
~ Rolling stop
~ Not looking behind my shoulder
~ Blinker

How can I improve that? I try, but I just get nervous, and forget, or just forget period, due to all those little details. It sucks.

Anyone have tips? How did you pass your test?

AnaHitori
Veteran
Veteran

09 Aug 2016, 8:21 pm

Before I went to get my license, I looked up "commonly made mistakes on driving road tests" and read about those.

I'm a terrible driver, but I still got my license somehow. O.o Just stay focused and concentrate. If you fail, you can take it again once you've gotten more practice.

kraftiekortie
Veteran
Veteran

09 Aug 2016, 8:22 pm

You're doing really good! I didn't get my license until age 37!

What I would do.

1. I would work on really STOPPING for a stop sign.
2. Parallel Parking.
3. Making a K-turn (also known as a U-turn.
4. Making sure you know who has the right-of-way.
5. Always signal when you're making a turn or changing lanes.
6. Make sure you awareness of other cars on the road with you.

Really, all the road test involves, usually, is you going maybe a mile at the most. The tester will test how you follow traffic rules. Follow them TO THE LETTER. Come to a complete stop at a stop sign.

Look in the mirror, and look back, if you have to change lanes. This indicates you are aware of the existence of the "blind spot."

The tester, at some point, will have you parallel park, and make a K/U-turn. Make sure you don't make a K/U-turn when there's a yellow line on the road. Make sure to make it from a turning lane, if at all possible.

Make sure you don't hit either the car in front of you, or the car in back of you, when you parallel-park.