Greetings. I'm new around these parts.

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

PuzzlePieces1
Raven
Raven

28 Aug 2016, 2:23 pm

I've been posting on a few threads on the various sub-forums this week, but I think it's time I formally introduced myself.

I'm an adult with AS (or whatever the DSM decides is the politically correct term to use for it this week) who lives independently with my wife. I grew up in poverty in the days before anyone knew what autism spectrum disorders were. As a consequence, I had a very difficult childhood with a lot of bullying from both my family and community. Despite the odds, I managed to graduate high school and go on to get both a college degree and graduate school degree with two professional certifications. As a professional, I have struggled due to my interpersonal relationship deficits and I am a closeted "Aspie" due to discrimination from employers since AS does not make me part of a protected class when it comes to employment.

My wife is mentally ill and recently was hospitalized for suicidal ideation. As a consequence, her employer fired her on a technicality to get rid of her and I've been caring for her ever since while taking over as our sole source of income. I'm finding this situation to be really challenging, because I don't deal with stress very well, but I need to do what is necessary under the circumstances.

I used to see a therapist which was how I was diagnosed as with an ASD at the age of 30, but I can no longer afford to pay for sessions. I do my own cognitive behavioral exercises (which I picked up from therapy) to manage my emotions and determine if my fears are rational. I'm hoping that participating in this forum will provide support to help me manage my disorder better.