Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

Vapno
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

09 May 2007, 9:34 pm

I've discussed my current problem with several folks, giving only a few the dire details. I'll give you guys some background. I'm going to graduate from GWU this summer with a M.A. in Political Management. I also work as an intern at a major national environmental non-profit in DC. I'm quiting there on June 8 because I won't be able to handle it and two courses worth of reading and writing.

I hate to admit it, but I may have chosen the wrong field entirely. I love politics and campaigns, but my disabilities really make me unfit to work in any position I can think of. Asperger's puts me in the position of not being able to work in the field for a campaign or any sort of grassroots stuff many folks in politics start off with. I'm too disorganized to handle any serious clerical or administrative job either. More troubling are the issues associated with my ADD-I, which I haven't found a medication to treat so far. I've always been praised for my writing. But this is from folks who have no idea how much time, mental exertion and frustration goes into every line. I've always been easily tired by the act of written composition, been embarrassed by my sluggishness (I can't churn out a paper the night before; it's always an extended, choppy process.), and have thoroughly hated the task itself. It helps to neatly label the basic disorders that beset me, as "sluggish cognitive tempo" and "executive dysfunction". At the end of the day, when I'm complemented for some trivial blog entry or what-not, it's the fact that people are judging me based on something I hate to do with a passion that is most bothersome.