What to do about parent who doesn't ever spend time w/ kid?

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

oka
Butterfly
Butterfly

15 Oct 2016, 10:09 pm

I'm a college student, and have a dad who is charitable to the entire world but can't spend a night home with his own family.

I've literally spent 3 hours alone with my parents this entire year. That's the standard for my family. I can count the number of family days or family nights/quality family time memories we've had in my life.

I like that my dad is charitable and helps people-- except his own family, of course- charity's cool. But it's wrong to ignore your own family to "help the world"-- and it's wrong to not even try to get to know your own kids.

It sucks that we don't know each other at all and that he can't see that it's unfair to try to be like a parent to everyone but his own kid. Obviously I'm not missing out on much- a "father" that ignores his own family isn't worth trying to get to know, but it's sad for me, it's sad for my mom, and it's sad for my future kids that won't have an active grandfather.

Tonight was yet another night like that. I'm visiting them 3 days-- I get to see them a few times a year now tops with college in another state. Even growing up we hardly ever spent any fine time together at all living in the same house. Our semi-annual, every handful of years, memorial day was to spend an hour or two father-child at the zoo or lake.... one day every few years. Father of the year award right there.

We're sitting in the living room having a family night-- it's my birthday, and it's my last night here before I have to fly back to the state I live in.

My dad goes and works out with his friend, shortening our planned family night, then comes home mid-evening. We try for family night then.