Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

jewels_1991
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

16 Oct 2016, 4:58 pm

I've been doing volunteer work at a hospital gift shop for a few months now. I've been learning a lot of new things from retail to operating the cash register. When we switched the cash register from the old one to touch screen, I was able to pick up on it quickly, at least compared to my co-volunteers (they're older than me).

Also occurring is my old manager is getting ready to retire due to health problems and is planning on volunteer w/ the gift shop. My new manager asked me if I was interested in taking her old job. It's basically what I'm doing now plus it involves putting data into the inventory system. It became recently available so I submitted an application online. However there are a couple of issues.

First, my new manager told me I couldn't tell the other volunteers about this. I understand why there's one lady who could really get upset because she's been there a long time and she's unhappy with the shop. I can keep a secret well, but it's hard when there's constant chatter about the changes in the gift shop that are occurring, which leaves to my second issue.