Page 1 of 3 [ 38 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Ceallaigh
Blue Jay
Blue Jay

23 Jan 2017, 9:24 pm

Hi! I have been looking into Autism/Asperger's for my 8yo son and the more I find out the more I realize that I am probably an Aspie too. It would answer a LOT of questions from my life, TONS! My husband and I are going to be looking into getting our son diagnosed but would there be any point in ME getting a diagnosis? I have a bachelor's degree (which I got partly while a single mom), I don't work but have and could, I don't have any serious difficulties, it's just been harder than I thought it should be. I just wonder if there is some reason that a diagnosis might be helpful at my age that I'm not thinking of, or should I just keep focusing on helping my son? Thanks! :)

AnonymousAnonymous
Veteran
Veteran

24 Jan 2017, 5:47 pm

Welcome to Wrong Planet! :D

iliketrees
Veteran
Veteran

25 Jan 2017, 12:46 am

Ceallaigh wrote:
I don't have any serious difficulties

To have ASD you need to. From the criteria:

DSM 5 wrote:
Symptoms cause clinically significant impairment in social, occupational, or other important areas of current functioning.

Ceallaigh wrote:
I just wonder if there is some reason that a diagnosis might be helpful at my age that I'm not thinking of,

There are many people who have got diagnosed later than you so it must be useful, but I can't answer for them.

Ceallaigh
Blue Jay
Blue Jay

26 Jan 2017, 12:21 pm

I had prepared a lengthy reply, thanking you all for your responses and giving you some details as to why I think I may be an Aspie and why I'm asking this question and then I lost internet and it was gone. Now I have to get ready for a trip. When I get back I'll type out my reply in Pages then copy it into here. Thanks for your patience! :)

Hippygoth
Deinonychus
Deinonychus

26 Jan 2017, 4:25 pm

Ceallaigh wrote: