Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

Stargazer43
Veteran
Veteran

25 Feb 2017, 7:44 am

I've noticed that some of the things that Trump is doing seem to be completely counter to traditional Republican values or policy, and yet it seems like the Republican party, and Republicans in general, are still fully supporting them. Is this just me, or has anyone else noticed this? What do you think is the cause? I'm not an expert in some of this stuff, but these are my understandings based on everything I've seen. I have two examples below, but these are definitely not the only ones that come to mind:

1.) The Wall. The vast majority of illegal immigrants come here through legal means, and then overstay their welcome. Very few are sneaking across the border in the middle of the night, so the wall will pretty much be making a statement rather than actually doing anything. The party touts fiscal responsibility, reducing taxes, and balancing the budget, and reducing entitlement programs, how can they justify spending 20-30 billion on a wall that will have next to no impact on illegal immigration?

2.) Keeping jobs in the USA. Businesses are going to follow market trends and do whatever makes the best business sense and allows them to grow. Imposing huge tariffs and whathaveyou on imports/exports will add additional "cost to doing business", but the business still has to make that money up somewhere. If it's 20% more expensive to manufacture in the US than China, and there's a 30% tariff on imports from China, then that just means they would have to either raise the cost of goods by 20%-30% regardless, or cut spending (which typically means layoffs) to make up the difference. The party typically wants free market principles to control everything, but this is basically trying to control and limit the free market.

naturalplastic
Veteran
Veteran

25 Feb 2017, 9:07 am