Page 1 of 2 [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

svaughan
Raven
Raven

31 Mar 2017, 7:33 am

Anyone else think that the stereotype of all Aspies loving computers is overblown. many I'm sure end up in IT because it often doesn't require top notch motor skills, for example, programming? Sure some maybe hyperfocused on it but I'm sure others would love to be an athlete, military etc.

Windigo
Raven
Raven

31 Mar 2017, 8:00 am

I guess it is.

Though I can't really comment because I am IT girl at work and a nerd at home :D

RetroGamer87
Veteran
Veteran

31 Mar 2017, 8:07 am

Not really. I spent all of my youth messing about with computers and now I work in IT.

leejosepho
Veteran
Veteran

31 Mar 2017, 8:11 am

I doubt anyone has any truly-comprehensive statistics showing the ratios or comparative numbers of Aspie programmers and athletes, and it would not be difficult for me to imagine some of us in either group having desires to be in the other. I spent many years clutching every opportunity I could find for playing some softball, then later also got into data processing...and now today I am an old man who can no longer play softball but can sit here doing some webmastering and restoring older computers.

Joe90
Veteran
Veteran

31 Mar 2017, 8:14 am

Calling somebody with a computer a 'nerd' is old-fashioned, as these days it's rather essential to have a computer.

leejosepho
Veteran
Veteran

31 Mar 2017, 8:19 am

Joe90 wrote:
Calling somebody with a computer a 'nerd' is old-fashioned, as these days it's rather essential to have a computer.

Yeah, but then what about those of us whose phones are still connected to the wall?! ;)

amykitten
Velociraptor
Velociraptor

31 Mar 2017, 8:44 am