Family disapproval of partners

Page 1 of 1 [ 16 posts ] 

jcCoolidgejr.
Yellow-bellied Woodpecker

01 Jul 2017, 4:25 am

I'm a sophomore in high school. I come from a very large family. Everyone is dating and conventionally attractive. Even my elementary little brother. I'm not attractive or dating anyone. Every time I find a girl and I can tell we like each other I can never ask her out because I have an intense fear of choosing someone my family doesn't deam attractive enough. I prefer personality so they aren't usually the most attractive. I once told my older brother a girl at my school like me and was attractive when he asked. She was not of good moral character to say the least. He told my whole family and they've been bothering me for almost a year now on it. I feel paralized because I'm the weird one and I have had a strained relationship with my stepmom in the past, who I see as responsible for pushing my siblings into dating. I don't want to disappoint my father because out of his two blood sons my older brother is smart, charming, and charadmatic. When he told me I had Asphergers he gave me The Complete Guide to Asphergers Syndrome. We never talked about it in the 4 years since he gave it to me. I feel like whatever I do I'm a disappointment. Should I talk to my family? Should I date who I want? I'm just so worried.

hurtloam
Veteran
Veteran

01 Jul 2017, 4:29 am

Yes date women who you are attracted to not those your family deem attractive

But be careful. I don't know why your brother made a comment about that girls moral character, but he might know something about her that you don't. Is she a thief and you don't realise. Will she just mess you around and break your heart?

Love who you want to, but don't be naive about it.

jcCoolidgejr.

01 Jul 2017, 4:30 am

hurtloam wrote: