Does anyone feel that Asperger's is not an actual disorder?

Page 1 of 2 [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

CuriousButDepressed
Snowy Owl
Snowy Owl

22 Jul 2017, 12:15 am

What I mean by this is, what if the struggles those who were "suffering" from Asperger's had were merely the result of their own unique personality that presented strengths and weaknesses? So, if for example an Aspie had social difficulties and I was a therapist, I would refuse to diagnose them with Asperger's and instead would use therapies designed to improve their social skills without ever giving them a label. Do we label "neurotypicals" for their own unique weaknesses? Absolutely not, so why don't we simply see Asperger's as just another unique brain wiring and focus on helping the people with such personalities via psychological therapy and behavioral modification, rather than telling them they are suffering from a disorder, ruining their self-esteem, opening them up to abuse from ignorant morons who mock that is different and making them feel they'll never be good enough?

When we instead focus on helping a person overcome their weaknesses with therapy and not give them a label, they don't feel as if they are some sort of leper that can never fully fit into society. Anyone else feel that Asperger's does not actually exist and that "sufferers" simply have their own unique personality with strengths and weaknesses that deserve help, but not a label?

VIDEODROME
Veteran
Veteran

22 Jul 2017, 12:48 am

It used to be thought that simply being Left Handed was a disorder that should be corrected. I guess even today some people still think Lefties should be corrected to being Right Hand Dominant. I think Left Handedness or 'The Left Hand Path' also used to be connected with the Occult by superstitious people and might still be by some.