Page 1 of 1 [ 3 posts ] 

lisa.c
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

14 Aug 2017, 4:45 pm

Hey everyone,
I'm a first year teacher and I'm having a lot of problems. I stupidly took a job in a new city where I have no support system, and things at work are getting worse.
I've been there for about six months now, and every single day I've been hit, punched or sworn at by kids and I don't get any help.
I've planned whole units of work for the whole school (I am currently the Technology teacher for the whole school, even though I'm not trained for that) and the principal just tells me that it's wrong without saying WHAT is wrong.
I was also told I would have a contract for three years, but during a meeting with the principal, she told me that I'm not doing anything and I shouldn't be a teacher (and implied that she's going to blacklist me so I can't find another job in this town).
I wake up every morning having a panic attack (I've had the last two days off) and I don't know what to do...

Does anyone have any advice?

P.S. Sorry for the long post.

Carinthium
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

14 Aug 2017, 7:49 pm

I've never tried to advise people before so apologies if this is crap, but since nobody's responding I figure crap advice is better than nothing. Also, feel free to pick and choose advice from here.

-------------------------------------------------------------------
Start with feeling better in the short term so you can calm down and think. Especially if you don't exercise, plan a walking route so long that you get utterly exhausted (yet is physically safe of course). If you have anyone in real life, who is supportive, spend time talking to them (phone or in person) to get supported and feel better more to work out your frustration than anything else.