Considering a new career path, is it worth pursuing?

Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 

RubyWings91
Velociraptor
Velociraptor

08 Nov 2017, 7:39 pm

Alright, I don't know if this belongs more in the Work and Finding a Job Section or the School and College Life section of this Forum but here are my questions:

Does someone with extremely mild AS stand a good chance of getting a career if they get the proper degrees in fields related to helping/working with other people with Disabilities, such as counseling or psychology? If so, what would probably be the best fields to invest in to get such a position?

Two years ago, I earned a Bachelor's Degree in Conservation Biology. Since then, I have gotten no positions in that field. There are relatively few jobs available and among those that are, I have been repetitively passed up for people with greater experience.

During this time, as I have developed another interest, psychology and more specifically, mental disabilities. It's an interest that has always been there, spurred by my having mild AS, but after some experiences during and after college, it has intensified. I've been toying with the idea of going back to College for a degree that would allow me to work with others with disabilities in a helpful manner.

This summer, I took up a seasonal position as a Direct Care Counselor at a summer camp for people with disabilities, enjoyed it and did well. I felt that I was able to connect with the other campers extremely well, even compared to other counselors. In the report that my supervisors gave, one of the reasons they expressed for my success is that I liked to learn about the campers that I worked with.