Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

DevilKisses
Veteran
Veteran

13 Nov 2017, 4:38 am

So for a while I was a huge music snob. Eventually I got fed up with music. Recently I got a Spotify subscription and said screw it I'm going to binge on pop music. And I really did. It was pretty dated, but it was pop. I also got into generic trap and a bit of generic indie. Basically normal people music. Bu that didn't last long. I recently got hardcore into experimental folk music. Particularly throat singing. Why? Why? Why? Why? If someone is going to be obsessed with throat singing, it gotta be me! I'm the one who got into Finnish accordion music. This throat singing crap makes bjork and death grips look normal. I'm just not enjoying pop and hip-hop as much as I used to. But listening to death grips on the bus is still fun.

VIDEODROME
Veteran
Veteran

13 Nov 2017, 5:05 am

I have long admired Bjork's creativity, but she is really getting out there in her last few albums.

naturalplastic
Veteran
Veteran

13 Nov 2017, 9:56 am

Throat singing is something that professional musicians in the West often admire because they can appreciate the technical aspects - and be amazed at how humans can sing like three notes at once.

But for most music listeners in the West...throat singing (from Cultures of the Asian Steppes like Tuva, Outer Mongolia, and Tibet) is an "acquired taste" at best. Harsh medicine to try to savor.

But if you're into it go for it.

We had a tape of authentic Tuvan (Tuva is a little country sandwiched between the Russian Republic and Outer Mongolia) throat singing that became an inside family joke. Its so bad that its good. Lets torture guests with it. Lol!

But one time while listening to it I tried to imagine it without the throat singing. Oddly it sounded a lot like Elizabethan English madrigals. I am not musicologist, but that's what it reminded of. Not a bad sound actually.