Page 1 of 2 [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

dragonsanddemons
Veteran
Veteran

18 Nov 2017, 4:57 pm

I'm fairly new to horror and haven't really seen that many horror movies, since I'm the only one in my family who likes them. I'm looking for recommendations for good horror movies, and/or movies that you would expect me to have seen if I said I was a horror fan.

I don't particularly enjoy movies with lots of sex, might put up with a little harm coming to animals if I know it's coming, but not too much, and prefer movies that have something to think about. I'm completely obsessed with all things Hellraiser (I find the Cenobites fascinating), am enjoying the Saw series, and like A Nightmare on Elm Street.

Yet in my new wildness and freedom I almost welcome the bitterness of alienage. For although nepenthe has calmed me, I know always that I am an outsider; a stranger in this century and among those who are still men.
-H. P. Lovecraft, "The Outsider"

Kraichgauer
Veteran
Veteran

18 Nov 2017, 10:35 pm

Cthulhu
- Despite it's name, it's a retelling of Lovecraft's The Shadow Over Innsmouth.
Dagon - Also a retelling of The Shadow Over Innsmouth.
Re-Animator - Based on Herbert West - Reanimator.
From Beyond - Based on the story of the same name
The Thing - The John Carpenter remake.
Absentia - Creepy, creepy movie.
The Hitcher - The original.
Nosferatu - Original silent movie.
The Cabinet Of Dr Caligari - Both the original, and the most recent remake.
The Howling - Older werewolf movie that's aged well.
The Shining - One of Stephen King's best film adaptions.
The Black Cat - Part of the Masters Of Horror series, this is based on the Poe story of the same name.

There are certainly many other great horror flicks I'm sure you'd enjoy.

dragonsanddemons
Veteran
Veteran

18 Nov 2017, 11:48 pm

Ooh, I wasn't aware of most of the Lovecraft-based movies you mentioned - I'll have to see if I can find them. Thank you for all the suggestions, that's a lot to add to my list :)