Page 1 of 1 [ 2 posts ] 

k.wolf
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

20 Nov 2017, 2:21 pm

Hi. I'm an university student and I had never struggled with staying focused during lectures and exams before in my academic life. Now in my university one of the buildings where I have classes and exams the acoustics are in my opinion beyond terrible. I'm already very sensitive to sound, and inside classrooms I swear I feel every little sound is amplified by 5x at the very least, and you can hear the sound of doors slamming propagating across the whole building. The act of turning a page on my notebook makes such a loud noise, sometimes I am afraid people in the adjacent classroom might be able to hear it!
I don't know what's wrong with this building, maybe they forgot to hire an acoustics engineer when they were designing it - the thing is I find myself getting distracted during class very often, to the point where I've stopped going to one of the lectures (no mandatory attendance) because I couldn't filter out background noise from people chatting/whispering (these people were very far way from me and I was sitting close to the front row, but I was still unable to hear the professor properly); whenever I have exams in this building, I can tell I get distracted a couple of times during it, and this has probably hurt my performance, because it makes me lose track of what I was doing for the moment and then I might make a really stupid mistake (like write a number instead of the other I was thinking about previously etc), or I am just unable to focus to my maximum ability and I get even more anxious.