Should I disclose my autism on social media?

Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ] 

Embla
Velociraptor
Velociraptor

24 Jan 2018, 7:42 am

I've been thinking about this for a long time, and I want to ask for your opinions to help me make a decision.

I use social media is to promote my art. I work as an illustrator, Facebook and instagram is where I get my clients from, and while I don't have a huge following, it's brings food to the table.

My reason for considering "coming out" is because I think that it's important to spread awareness. People being open about it online is the only reason I found out about my autism in the first place, and it has helped me to accept it as part of me, and something good even. I think that the more of us that can be open about it and spreading information, the more people who are unaware of their autism will find out, and it will help in erasing all the prejudice.

But that's a big reason for not coming out. All the prejudice. I'm afraid that if I tell about it, I might lose clients, or be sorted out from job opportunities because of it. That no matter how competent I am and how much effort I put into every project, the autism label will outshine it all.
I would suspect that a few people would get more understanding of my social errors, and there is a small possibility that I get subjected to hatred from anti-vaxxers (neither really matters). Though I have no idea how many potential clients would back off at the sight of the word "autistic".

I really want to help spread awareness, just by talking about it, and through comics and paintings, and I want to start making wordless books, and books with sign language, for special needs-kids.

I know that I shouldn't want to work with people anyway if they think my disorder is more important than my work. And I want to be the person who dares risk losing a job for a cause that's important to me. But it's still scary, because my economy depends on it, and I don't know how it would be affected.