Page 1 of 2 [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

ThePen
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

14 May 2018, 12:26 am

Hey everybody, first post here. I have a problem that I can't figure out.

I'm an aspie (obviously) and I've been writing for about fifteen years now. I'm not published, but I've been told I'm good enough that I could be if I wanted to. I'm on a writing forum where lots of new writers come and ask questions about how to write better. I want them to succeed, so I always give them the best advice I can, and that usually involves "set standards for yourself, put effort into your work, don't cut corners, actually think things out, etc." But then the other members flood the board with "Just do whatever you want! Ignore the haters! Have fun! There are no rules!" And it freaking pisses me off, especially when I try to play damage control, explaining why they shouldn't be doing all this other stuff and the other members act like I have a stick up my butt for it. It's like, "fun" and "effort" are polar opposites, and you have to be some kind of literary Nazi to try and put them together.

All I want is for people to do things right. Why is that such a bad thing?

thewrll
Veteran
Veteran

14 May 2018, 10:24 am

I to an extent agree with everyone else. Have fun is more important than what you suggested.

ThePen
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

14 May 2018, 12:59 pm

thewrll wrote:
I to an extent agree with everyone else. Have fun is more important than what you suggested.

Reasoning like that is why Twilight was such a huge hit. People aren't interested in thinking anymore.

lovethegameimtheplayer
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

14 May 2018, 4:22 pm

Art should have no boundaries. The mind should explore any avenue it wants to especially when it comes to creativity. Take Hunter S. Thompson for example. He didn't have a clue how to structure a book when he first started off but most people think his first books were his best.