How can we make our autism clinic more sensory friendly?

Page 1 of 2 [ 28 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

AudreyS
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

02 Jul 2018, 10:14 am

Hello,

I am a medical student working in an Autism clinic. The doctors and I are trying to make the clinic more sensory friendly for our patients. Do you have suggestions of things we can improve?

Thanks!

skibum
Veteran
Veteran

02 Jul 2018, 10:25 am

Do not use fluorescent lighting. Use soft desktop lamps and lamps that can be dimmed.

Do not play music in the clinic. Have charging stations so that people can make sure their mp3 players and phones can stay charged so that they can listen to their own music through headsets.

Have lots of stim toys available and many different kinds for children as well as for adults. Make sure they are sanitized regularly.

Speak softly and concisely and be very patient when we try to answer you

Have different types of seating, hard chairs, soft chairs, bean bags, chaises where people can stretch out etc. Even have cots available if someone needs to lie down while waiting in the waiting room.

If you can afford an aquarium, get one. Have a sensory room with textures that people can touch and where people can destress while waiting. If you can have an office cat, that would be great as well.

Make sure the color that the walls are painted absorb light rather than reflecting it. The walls should be soothing and relaxing, calming colors.

Have swings, tubes and weighted blankets and vests for people who need stimulation or deep pressure

Have a respite area where high functioning people can spend a night or two or even up to a week or two and be in a sensory safe and nurturing environment.

Wreck It Ralph

skibum
Veteran
Veteran

02 Jul 2018, 10:30 am

Provide coloring pages and crayons and colored pencils and books.

Provide stuffed animals