Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

heathertruett
Butterfly
Butterfly

03 Aug 2018, 12:20 pm

Hello. I am new here and newly diagnosed as well. Although, there was suspicion on my part for a long time. My oldest son is on the spectrum so I have some experience to fall back on. Mostly, I am in that stage of going through every memory I have and using this autism lens to view situations again. So many things make sense now.

I am struggling to identify the emotions I have concerning this official diagnosis. I feel something. Acutely. When I focus on what I am feeling, I get sort of dizzy, but not hugely dizzy. My hands start to feel a bit cold/numb. It's almost like my anxiety or overload reaction, but nowhere near as intense.

Anyhow, I am looking forward to a community where I can figure out myself and do so without feeling like I am weird or stand out in the wrong ways.

I am a writer and a college student. I am married to a pastor, but I have never been a stereotypical pastor's wife (as you can probably imagine). My sons are 16 and 14. The 16 year old has Asperger's, ADHD, and Tourette's.

Thank you for this community.

“Don't use the phone. People are never ready to answer it. Use poetry.” - Jack Kerouac

isloth
Velociraptor
Velociraptor

03 Aug 2018, 4:56 pm

Welcome Heather,

I actually had the same exact experience when I got my diagnosis super late of intensely analyzing past situations and rethinking them. It's understandable to be nervous but remember that just because you received a diagnosis doesn't mean you are a different person, you are still the same person you have always been. Hopefully, you will eventually be able to figure out yourself and what you feel, that is one of the greatest challenges in my opinion.

heathertruett
Butterfly
Butterfly

03 Aug 2018, 5:03 pm

isloth wrote:
It's understandable to be nervous but remember that just because you received a diagnosis doesn't mean you are a different person, you are still the same person you have always been.