Why are some people so unfriendly?

Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ] 

impendingtacticallama
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

03 Aug 2018, 6:33 pm

This may seem silly, but it's something I've noticed all my working life. I have thought about it but I am not sure what the root cause is, and I would like to find out how I can figure it out, if you know what I mean?

I am an engineer. I work in an office. I do designs, paperwork, calculations. Sometimes I make or fix small things at work and at home. I have worked for three companies now, but only just joined a graduate scheme at the age of 25.

Throughout my working life I've made friends with staff who are older than me, and staff the same age who work in other areas of engineering, like manufacturing (eg machinists) and maintenance. We say hello to each other in the street, go drinking, have dinner together at work.

When I worked with people roughly my age, in the same work area (graduate level stuff?), we don't click. I can work in teams with these people and get the job done, but it doesn't go any further.

I often see these people outside of work but they don't really say hello. In fact, it can be really awkward when we do see each other. For instance, we are often in the gym after work at the same time, and it's a Mexican standoff to see if we acknowledge each other or not. Often when I do nod or say hello, the response I get suggests they wonder why I bothered.

I noticed this at school too, I never made friends in the high sets at school, and the friends I made mainly come from special needs classes or lower sets. At the time I thought it was because I wasn't actually smart, and stood out as a bit dumb in the top sets. Sometimes I still feel that way, but I have the experience behind me to rationalise that it's probably not the case.

Anyway; I know people with AS often get along better with older people, but that doesn't seem to be the only thing happening here? :?:

Daniel89
Veteran
Veteran

04 Aug 2018, 1:03 am