Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

amdedinboro
Yellow-bellied Woodpecker

02 Sep 2018, 3:35 pm

Just wondered if anyone had any tips for success an artist with autism? Out of everything in life, I feel that art is what gives me the most purpose. But I wish I could find the resources to focus on that all the time and achieve success through the work I'm passionate about, instead of having to struggle with everyday living as I do and worry about other things. I'm a writer, animator, filmmaker, and enjoy other forms of art as well. I just wondered whether anyone had any advice for someone in my position, or resources I could look into for funding some of my more ambitious projects?

Cheers :)

Prometheus18
Veteran
Veteran

04 Sep 2018, 7:04 am

I suppose you'll have to get a degree first. From your course you'll get the necessary connections to succeed in this area, though I'm told it's enormously competitive.

Quite frankly, if you have anything of value to produce as an artist you'd better resign yourself to (financial) failure and obscurity right now, because there's nothing the world despises more than virtue, ability and value. If your talents are poor, however, you'll 'go far'.

Fnord
Veteran
Veteran

04 Sep 2018, 8:46 am

Keep the day jobs.

Nowadays, an independent artist has as much of a chance of making a comfortable living with his or her art as a high-school freshman has of playing in a professional sports league.

UNLESS, of course, your work is so exceptional for its style, content, and originality that people are attracted to it by its seeming uniqueness.

How about making a 30-minute animated video about a an Aspie's coming-of-age?

No love for Hamas, Hezbollah, Iranian Leadership, Islamic Jihad, other Islamic terrorist groups, OR their supporters and sympathizers.

Kraichgauer
Veteran
Veteran

05 Sep 2018, 1:53 am