Page 1 of 2 [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

MadelineBlue97
Butterfly
Butterfly

10 Sep 2018, 12:01 pm

I'm trying really hard to get a job right now last interview was awkward I was trying too hard to be "normal" I faked a smile and I did an eye contact trick by looking at her nose. I asked how she was doing and I tried my best at small talk but it still wasn't enough.

They always see right through me, and start asking if I'm alright. How do I act, I feel hopeless, I've been fired three times for not being friendly enough with people and I'm currently not qualified for any other job, I am a student going into the IT field.

I want "normal" people to like me but most of the time I just make them uncomfortable they never want to hire me.

Does anyone have any advice on how to appear more normal so I can get a job? :?

kdm1984
Velociraptor
Velociraptor

10 Sep 2018, 5:39 pm

I'm sorry to hear that you've had troubles in this area. I've tended to either bomb interviews, or do well enough to get hired; depends on what they ask and are looking for.

I'd hope that IT would be more accommodating for you. Maybe you haven't hit the right companies? I'm also female, and I was able to take on most substitute educational IT jobs as a substitute teacher for a larger school district a couple of years ago. There was one disaster though when I had to adjust a bunch of Excel spreadsheets for school HVACs (never did figure out the formulas they asked me to do for that), and another last year when I had a meltdown over them arguing about where they should place me in the building when the IT department disagreed with the Substitute Teaching office on where help was needed (apparently there were lots of conflicts between the newer Subbing company and the district educational IT department, from what I was told, unlike the previous Subbing company who got along with the educational IT department just fine).