Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

Merboy
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

23 Sep 2018, 3:55 pm

Hi,

I'm new to this message board, I've been reading a few of the threads, and even though I tend to find interacting online a bit overwhelming, I thought this site would be more understanding so thought that I'd give it a go.

I'm from the UK, and I've recently been diagnosed with autism, early last month in fact. And honestly it's all been a bit of a whirlwind, I turned 43 a few months ago, and I knew very little about autism, Aspergers etc, it came on my radar when a friend mentioned that there may be a link between autism and addiction. I've been in recovery for over 3 years, but before that I've struggled with alcohol, and other mental health issues.

To cut a long story short I read a book on autism and Aspergers in adults by Dr Luke Beardon, that resinated more deeply with me than I could ever have expected, it explained me on almost every level, from early childhood and teens years, and including the years of masking behaviour, and sensory issues. In my opinion it's a really well written and accessible book that neither pathologises or patronises autistic people.

The deep emotional impact of the book and the following self recognition compelled me to seek a diagnosis.
I was incredibly lucky to be taken seriously by my local neurobehavioural unit. I think this was because of my ongoing mental health issues, and the fact that they thought having to wait up to a year or more for an assessment would add to my distress.
While I waited for my assessment I researched more about ASC (it became a bit of special interest :) .) And I became fairly certain that I was on the spectrum.
I was still really anxious while I waited, couldn't think of anything else. I went to the assessment and afterwards I got told the result that I was without doubt autistic.