Page 1 of 2 [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

jessicaleigh514
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

09 Oct 2018, 4:35 pm

Hi everyone,

I’m trying to come to terms with my new diagnosis, although I’m not surprised by it. I am 25 so I was diagnosed kind of late, relatively. Idk how to explain how I feel...but I feel weird.

I am a teacher for kids with ASD so I have been exposed to autism a lot for 2 years now. I am also going to grad school for Applied Behavior Analysis with an emphasis in autism. Autism is my life. But it’s weird for me to be the one with it.

Also, does anyone have any books they recommend for ASD/Aspie?

Fnord
Veteran
Veteran

09 Oct 2018, 4:38 pm

Welcome aboard, and welcome to the family!

There as many, many books out there.

A member named jimmy_m has written a book.

If I can't find the title, someone else surely will.

:D

jessicaleigh514
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

09 Oct 2018, 4:40 pm

Thank you :) how did you cope when you learned of your diagnosis?

Fnord
Veteran
Veteran

09 Oct 2018, 4:57 pm

Ah! Here it is: The Aspie Code.

How did I cope? For a moment, I was shocked. Then everything fell into place, and I could visualize how my life had unfolded under Asperger's Syndrome, and it all suddenly made sense. After that, I was excited. I wanted to tell everyone "Hey! Guess What! I know why I was so awkward, clumsy, and just plain weird!", but then common sense took hold, and I could visualize how people would react knowing that my brain was wired differently than theirs when they had thought all along that I was just "eccentric". So I keep my "condition" to myself. No one knows except the people who diagnosed me.

Otherwise, I get along fine.

AltoClarinet
Yellow-bellied Woodpecker
Yellow-bellied Woodpecker

09 Oct 2018, 5:41 pm

Three books that have helped me:

The Unwritten Rules of Social Relationships by Sean Barron and Temple Grandin

Living Independently on the Autism Spectrum by Lynne Soraya

Life and Love: Positive Strategies for Autistic Adults by Zosia Zaks