Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

HenryJonesJr
Yellow-bellied Woodpecker

11 Nov 2018, 2:00 pm

I am currently in the second year of a PhD program. Before this I did a master's degree. Our school hosted a conference this weekend in my field. I met some cool people and learned a lot of interesting things. However, during the last few hours of the third day (only a half-day) I began to succumb to the dreaded "introvert overload". My motivation ran out, then my fake smile muscles reached complete fatigue, and apparently my face reverted to a sour expression. I completed my duties and escaped quickly.

My question is, can an introvert survive in today's academic world? I am introverted to the point that I think I must be neuro-atypical in some way (I was once offered an ASD diagnosis). I feel that there is so much pressure to be upbeat and optimistic and just "on" in the academic setting. This applies to teaching and working with students in general, as well as to networking and collaborating and attending service meetings of various types. I can do this for a few hours each day, but then I just start to run out of steam. I know this is an especially tough time, right after a conference, but I feel as though something is wrong with me. The message it seems to me that I receive from others is "why can't you just be happy and have a good time?" I feel as though I am incompetent in some way, and this is disappointing. When I feel this way I struggle to even appear friendly, though I certainly feel no ill will towards anyone; I am just drained and have no energy to offer.

I hear all of this career advice for future academics that is centered around being an excellent teacher and having a vast professional social network. This is in addition to the baseline expectation of doing excellent research. How can a person like me survive in this setting?

BTDT
Veteran
Veteran

11 Nov 2018, 3:13 pm