Page 1 of 2 [ 28 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

hannahjrob
Snowy Owl
Snowy Owl

03 Dec 2018, 6:10 pm

Do you struggle with motor skills? And if so, does one seem to be more of a struggle than the other? I feel like my fine motor skills are awful, but I seem to have better gross ones. I just have trouble with anything that requires any kind of coordinated movement with my hands. I still struggle with the simplest tasks, like locking/unlocking doors and opening envelopes. I've been told that the way I hold silverware while I'm eating is odd. It's a total disaster if I try to cut a loaf of bread, or get foil or cling wrap out without messing up the whole roll. I work as an aide at an elementary school, and I swear my fine motor skills are no better than the kids'. If I'm in a classroom and the teacher has the kids do some activity where they have to fold paper a certain way, I'm just as lost as some of the kids and I'm no help to them! The little ones in kindergarten and 1st grade always need help opening things at lunch or snack time, and sometimes I'm no better at helping them with that either! :x Thankfully, I can help them tie their shoes, but I also can sympathize with the kids who can't do it, because I had the hardest time figuring that out when I was little. I don't think I could really tie my own shoes till halfway through 1st grade.

But yeah, I don't seem to have as much trouble with gross motor skills. I took gymnastics and dance lessons as a kid, and as an adult I go to zumba-type dance fitness classes for my workout and I can pick up the moves fairly well. (However, the fitness place also has "pound" classes which is where instead of dancing, you bang drumsticks to the rhythm/beat of music. I tried it a couple times and I totally suck and can't keep up). I did have a bit of a hard time learning to ride a bike as a child, though. And I was really bad at sports and couldn't throw/kick/catch balls very well.

Arganger
Veteran
Veteran

03 Dec 2018, 6:17 pm