Page 1 of 1 [ 15 posts ] 

logicpuppy
Butterfly
Butterfly

28 Mar 2019, 5:11 am

This is long, sorry.
It seems the older I get, the less direction I have in life.
I'm only 21.
I've had depression and anxiety since I was 10, and was committed to inpatient treatment at age 15 for suicidal ideation. I was only there for a few months.
I learnt pretty much nothing during secondary school due to my mental health issues. I never went back to school after hospital, but I studied a bit for exams, and was given a separate room during them. I came out with 5 GCSE's.
Then I tried to do my A-levels, after a month it was too much and I wasn't going in, so I left the course.
I made friends along the way, in the psych unit and in the month I was in sixth form. I'd never had friends before. I also made enemies. I had a bizarre way of thinking, obsessed with an idea I called 'cycles', which I formed during an acid trip. People made fun of me. I'd go to parties and get as drunk and high as I could, it was about a 50/50 split between people thinking I was endearing and people thinking I was a psychopath or something. Either way, it was the best time of my life. I feel like I deeply connected to people in a way I hadn't previously. I fell in and out of love.
During that year I tried desperately to get a job. I always failed the interview.
I tried A-levels again, at a college this time. I made no friends there. My attendance in the first year was only 16%, but I got an A in Maths and a B in futher maths, so they let me sit my second year without going to school. I got grades A and C in the end. Failed the third subject. During this time I became a recluse, for the entire 2 years. My friends faded away and I pretty much only left the house for my exams.