Helpful ways to teach students with Aspergers?

Page 1 of 1 [ 16 posts ] 

ReadLolaRead
Butterfly
Butterfly

06 Apr 2019, 7:56 am

Hey everyone. I'm a private tutor and former professor looking for better ways to help fellow aspies learn. I'm also on the spectrum, and students on the spectrum seem to gravitate toward me (I feel very fortunate for this). As it goes, the tips and tricks that have worked for me don't always work for all students--and I've noticed a gender difference (I'm female, and my own tricks tend to work for other females but less so for males).

Specifically, we struggle during sessions when there's a task at hand and students want to diverge into a discussion/monologue about their special interests. Sometimes it takes a *long* time to get started with the actual classwork (up to 15 minutes). Since lessons are only an hour at a time, this cuts our productivity way down.

So I'm wondering if anyone can share suggestions of things that their favorite tutors/teachers/counselors have done to get them focus and stay on the task at hand? Here are some things I'm thinking of:

Allowing a few minutes to transition into the session and then telling them when it's time to begin the work.
Having them take 5 deep breaths before we begin.
Printing out a schedule for the lesson.
Gently reminding them to "please focus" if they veer off course.

Thanks a million.

jimmy m
Veteran
Veteran

06 Apr 2019, 7:07 pm

Generally I learn by actually doing things - hands on experience. So the more tangible you can integrate this into study plan, I suspect the more successful you will be.

There are many types of Autistics. Most autistics are high functioning autistics (HFA's) or Aspies. A few are less advanced. From my perspective the book called Eikona Bridge by Jason Lu is the only one I came across so far that provides a roadmap for moving a low functioning or moderate functioning autistic towards the high functioning category.