How my daughter can explain her own diagnosis

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

MikeandMike
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

06 Apr 2019, 8:54 pm

Hello everyone. This is my first time posting. I am the father of a 9-year-old girl who was diagnosed ASD at the age of 6.
Her mother and I sat down earlier tonight to talk to her about her diagnosis for the first time. It felt like the time was right, but while the initial talk went well, I feel like we left some loose ends untied, and I wanted to seek advice from the community here.

To give a bit of background, my daughter is high-functioning (for lack of a better term). She is gifted verbally, has aptitudes for math and music, and is generally friendly, gregarious and sociable. However, she struggles with emotional regulation, cognitive rigidity, attention issues (which earned her an additional diagnosis of ADHD), executive function, and more nuanced social skills (particularly perspective taking and theory of mind).

The emotional regulation part has been her biggest struggle as it interferes with regularly with her every-day functioning, and is particularly disruptive at school. She's prone extreme emotional episodes, explosions of anger or frustration, meltdowns, etc. And it's this experience of hers that prompted us telling her about her diagnosis, since now that she's in 3rd grade, she's at the point where none of the other kids around her are having episodes like this, and she notices that she's different. We felt that her knowing at least something about her cognitive profile would help her understand why she was having these challenges, and why she was receiving so much extra attention by special-ed staff, therapists, etc.