Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

Angnix
Veteran
Veteran

14 May 2019, 9:59 pm

I found a job ad for a zoology teacher at a charter school in Detroit. The first part of the ad made it sound like I might be qualified, it said a teaching certificate or a bachelor's in the subject area (I have a bachelor's in zoology itself) with some previous teaching and research experience (I had some environmental education jobs and research jobs) but then later on it said you had to have one of the science endorsements on your teaching certificate? When earlier it said certificate or bachelor's? I mean I am interested in it, permanent with benefits plus if you pursue your Masters at a local University you get a significant tuition reduction as a bonus and the employer got good reviews on Indeed... I applied but I'm wondering about the teaching certificate thing... Ehhh...

Avatar: A Shiny from the new Pokemon Pearl remake, Shiny Chatot... I named him TaterTot...

FINALLY diagnosed with ASD 2/6/2020

BeaArthur
Veteran
Veteran

14 May 2019, 11:27 pm

The way I read this is, if you have a bachelor's in say English or Art, you better have a teaching certification plus they want you to have at least a little science accreditation. But if your bachelor's is in Zoology, they will overlook the lack of a certificate.

I am not sure how it works in Michigan, but I know private schools often don't require a teacher's certificate, whereas public ones absolutely do (except in substitute teachers). Now you called this school a charter school, my guess is that means it is more similar to a private school even if it is part of the state system.

Good luck. I bet you'd be a great zoology teacher!

BTDT
Veteran
Veteran

15 May 2019, 9:43 am

I went to a private prep school that would hire teachers right out of college with just a 4 year degree.

kraftiekortie
Veteran
Veteran

15 May 2019, 9:44 am

Apply for the job. If they do "require" a teaching certificate, maybe they would allow you to take the test.