Any science researchers with HF Autism/Aspergers?

Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 

Khalo
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

14 Jun 2019, 4:19 pm

Hi,

I am new to the message boards-it's taken me a while to find somewhere like this, but I'm pleased I have. Thank you!

I am currently a PhD student working in genetics/genomics research. I wondered how other researchers on the spectrum dealt with the lack of predicability in day-to-day research and also the isolation that comes with research projects.

Specifically, while I like physically working on my own in the lab, I struggle being the only one with the knowledge to troubleshoot my research. I also struggle to have common points of discussion with other members of the team I work with, as no one else works on my project. This leaves me quite isolated at work.

While lack of predictability is an over arching part of research (answering questions which haven't been answered before etc.), I find day-to-day planning can be difficult- for example, if a piece of equipment is broken, or a standard protocol doesn't work (despite troubleshooting and finding no errors). These things leave me feeling chaotic and overwhelmed.

I wondered how other scientists working in research and who are on the spectrum dealt with this, either currently or in the past? Do you still work in research or did you leave?

Thank you in advance!

Fnord
Veteran
Veteran

14 Jun 2019, 4:33 pm

<--- Electrical Engineer, with a lot of years in Research & Development.

It's a hard choice to make between working methodically by myself and eventually reaching a singular conclusion, or working chaotically with others and discovering new possibilities to research later.

The former means that I get sole credit for the results, but the equipment I need may not always be available. It also means that I can work at my own rapid pace when no one else is around, but my research doesn't always get high priority.