Question about autism/masking/assessment.

Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

Mountain Goat
Veteran
Veteran

22 Jun 2019, 12:16 pm

I might have over a year to wait for an assessment. At the moment I am getting quite a few energy loss situations a day which I believe to be partial shutdowns. I have had three so far today and the first I was on the floor with for a little while, so I am taking things easy today, but at the same time trying to get things done. (My car is clean now so is one thing done).
Now with the wait, I may find by the time the assessment comes that I am in a better position with less of these partial shutdowns, as sometimes I can go a couple of days without going in for them. (Other times they can come six or eight or even more times a day depending on the day.
Now when the assessment comes, if I am on a role where I am good and not getting the partial shutdowns, I believe that I am an expert at masking, so when I am good I appear very average and normal, not that I appear to look anything other... I think it is a case that I think I look different... (Though my youngsst brother who is an expert at mimiking people often chooses me as his pet subject! Today he showed how he copied one of my "Ways" or sayings and recorded himself trying to be me amongst his friends and his friends thought it was hillarious! Having a humourus streek I don't mind... He is funny!)