Page 1 of 1 [ 16 posts ] 

Sweetleaf
Veteran
Veteran

13 Jul 2019, 11:17 pm

IDK where to post it, but was just wondering who likes hummus, its delicious especially on the naan bread at most grocery stores. Though I would like to figure out how to make that bread myself, instead of having to get it at the store every time. But still hummus an flat bread is like the greatest snack of all that doesn't make you feel like crap after you eat it.

Magna
Veteran
Veteran

13 Jul 2019, 11:32 pm

It's wonderful stuff, but I've been making my own for the past thirty years now. With that I think store bought hummus is sub par. I will often crave foods that are strong in flavor (very spicy, etc) and when I make my own hummus I use a LOT of fresh garlic, sometimes to the point that it stings the mouth.

Same with refried beans. Ever since I started making my own from dried pinto beans and a pressure cooker I have not been able to nor have I desired to buy it in the can. In fact canned refried beans remind me of the smell of canned dog food and is off putting to me.

Do you make your own hummus? It's so easy to do and so delicious.

Sweetleaf
Veteran
Veteran

13 Jul 2019, 11:38 pm

Magna wrote:
It's wonderful stuff, but I've been making my own for the past thirty years now. With that I think store bought hummus is sub par. I will often crave foods that are strong in flavor (very spicy, etc) and when I make my own hummus I use a LOT of fresh garlic, sometimes to the point that it stings the mouth.

Same with refried beans. Ever since I started making my own from dried pinto beans and a pressure cooker I have not been able to nor have I desired to buy it in the can. In fact canned refried beans remind me of the smell of canned dog food and is off putting to me.