Advice on asking questions at work

Page 1 of 1 [ 3 posts ] 

awwthecar
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

03 Sep 2019, 3:27 pm

Hi,

So I work as a CGM Coordinator for a durable medical equipment company, and am still fairly new. I was originally verifying benefits, but they decided they wanted to outsource the position, and asked if I would volunteer for my current position.

My current position pays a lot better, but I’m currently at a stand-still.

Last week I asked one of my team leads if I could meet with her to go over some questions. My manager later cancelled the meeting, because it was the end of the month.

The way my brain works, I’m not 100 percent sure if it was cancelled because they think I ask too many questions. I’m hoping it was cancelled because it was the end of the month, and our company was under pressure for meeting our goals.

What is a good way to approach a team lead or manager, saying something like, “I apologize for having so many redundant questions, but my brain does process things differently than a neurotypical. I know I should know how to do this, and I have been trying, but I honestly cannot find the answer on my own.” Is there good wording that can acknowledge that I do ask a lot of questions, but help them understand that I’m just trying to do my job the most efficiently?

I don’t want to give up yet, but this position has been a huge learning curve, and the training system has been terrible.

Thanks!

hmk66
Velociraptor
Velociraptor

06 Sep 2019, 8:55 am

I am in a similar situation. I ask questions either to be sure I do the right thing, and as part as a learning process.

They don't appreciate very much about asking questions, because they can see as a learning disorder. I ask questions because of lack of information that they refuse to give.