Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

roronoa79
Veteran
Veteran

05 Sep 2019, 2:15 pm

I really don't like where I am in life and I really want to go back to school to become a teacher. I graduated from college year before last and I didn't really get a degree or any particular skills that could set me down a career path. I spent all my years in school deeply depressed and barely functional, to the point that I was dismissed and reinstated twice and it took me 7 years to graduate. I had considered my school's fast-track teacher's degree program, but I have none of the credentials or references I would need to be a part of that, not to mention that I didn't take a single teaching course as an undergrad.
I'm just wondering if anyone would have advice for where I could start with this. I know it won't be easy and it will take years at least but I really want to do this. I'd flirted with trying to go into teaching when I was younger but it kind of got lost to my years-long depressive fog. I love helping people learn and I've always gotten on well with kids. It just seems like something fulfilling and meaningful that I could be good at.
Would I just...straight up call the Education Department? And ask point blank what I would want to do as a first step? (Anxiety makes it very hard for me to think that would be a good idea but I'm probably wrong). Would I set up an appointment with an academic advisor? Do prospective students who've already graduated even do that if they aren't going to grad school?
I've put this off too long because of depression and anxiety but I really want to focus and get some direction for myself.

Δυνατὰ δὲ οἱ προύχοντες πράσσουσι καὶ οἱ ἀσθενεῖς ξυγχωροῦσιν.
Those with power do what their power permits, and the weak can only acquiesce.

- Thucydides

kraftiekortie
Veteran
Veteran

14 Sep 2019, 8:41 am

I think that’s an excellent idea.

blazingstar
Veteran
Veteran

14 Sep 2019, 7:41 pm