I'm Pretty New On WrongPlanet, Starting Fresh

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

MissIndependent
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

03 Oct 2019, 10:00 am

Hi!

I am quite new on WrongPlanet, and am looking to make friends. I have some significant struggles with ASD, with some self taught skills. I just arrived from the Northwest with little preparation and that shook me quite a bit. There is a stressful, chaotic event in my family with some dysfunction...I have been teaching myself coping skills.

Part of my family, whom is toxic to me, are the ones I live under for now. I am nearly 25 years old. I am striving to teach myself independent living skills, and get help. All calls to police have been not taken seriously as my aunt stepped in and has pretty much ensured that I don't come off as sounding like I know what I'm talking about. I am developing a few toxic habits myself and can't respond appropriately, though I do have high intelligence and have taught myself many skills. I am shy but advocating for myself is a big first step. I need to get resources because I keep getting empty promises, and am finally starting to suspect that there is no intention of support. I have tried multiple attempts at getting myself services in the past but I've been "rescued" by family. They act as if the world is an unsafe place and I know there is hope and resources.

The relative I moved down to is.....tricky. I'm never sure whether to trust her or not. She has family believing lies (or she's just lying to me) at which point, I've taken to the tough task of staying secretive of my communications. My Asperger's was self discovered and self advocated, family always knew but there was never a diagnosis. I've always had quirks.