Page 1 of 2 [ 28 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

cberg
Veteran
Veteran

24 Nov 2019, 11:08 pm

I've been using an x220t i7 Thinkpad for 2 or three years now. I wound up rebuilding that machine into something rather faster than my 2015-6 Dell XPS & I still have it. More recently I decided I was permanently through with bottlenecked computers.

I bought a carbon lid 4k P1 gen. 2 - basically an X1 Carbon Extreme with a Xeon & 4x the memory. :lol: :nerdy:

Does anyone else here dig these surprisingly useful little machines?

-Gem Tos :mrgreen:

Veteran
Veteran

26 Nov 2019, 7:34 am

I like my ThinkPad. It's a P50 from 3 years ago, not the highest specs and not the lowest, and cost me about 3000 EUR at the time. My main reason for buying it was that I wanted a machine which could support my special interests (AI art generation, 3-4 gigabyte image editing, etc.), but which was also compact enough to carry around (hence the P70 was out of question). There are some lingering driver issues but performance-wise it's been a nice ride. I'm also a fan of the design. It hasn't changed much over the years.

cberg
Veteran
Veteran

26 Nov 2019, 7:28 pm

Interestingly enough the ThinkPad design language was commisioned by IBM from a German/Italian designer & bought by Lenovo later.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Richard_Sapper

My friend has a W580 that we view similarly, he's also got a regular x220 & is considering a Carbon or an X1 Tablet. Judging by my impressions of the P1 so far, I doubt I'll ever be buying anyone else's laptops ever again, as long as they're selling these things. There would have to be a significantly earth-shaking design of undeniable superiority for me to be swayed.

It may interest you to know I paid similar or somewhat less cash for this new model with a Wacom screen - the digitizer wasn't even in the released specs but I kind of just took it for granted & voila, it shipped with Wacom AES built in, so I can choose between a number of styli.

cberg
Veteran