Page 1 of 3 [ 36 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Autumn78
Butterfly
Butterfly

09 Dec 2019, 7:46 pm

Hello.
I'm wondering if anyone out there has experienced workplace bullying. I have high functioning Autism and I am a teacher. I'm also being mistreated by a few coworkers, who are supported by our admin. I feel a bit lost.
Any stories to share?

NeilM
Toucan
Toucan

10 Dec 2019, 2:13 pm

Sorry to hear of your being bullied in an academic setting. How can those who are bullying you turn around and tell their students not to bully their classmates?

Sadly yes, I was bullied where I worked too. I am retired now and thankfully those days are behind me but hardly a day went by that I did not experience some kind of bullying from my co-workers. Fortunately most of my time was devoted to helping people in other departments so I was in my own department less than 25% of the time, less if I could manage it.

Having Aspergers, you are to be commended for just being in front of your class everyday. And then to be bullied by other staff members is deplorable. Is there an HR person you could take this up with? That's a double edged sword tho I know. In other words, going to HR could come back to haunt you later.

AQ = 38 MBTI = ISTJ Gender = Non-binary
I strive not to perseverate. You can PM me for more info.

Mountain Goat
Veteran
Veteran

10 Dec 2019, 2:26 pm

Start naming names in front of the school governers? Be honest and truthful. Say you went through the official channel but nothing was taken seriously.
These days I have put up with so much in the past. Thankfully the last place I worked there was a great group of people. Sadly I could not cope and it has nothing to do with the staff or company this time, but the time before with the previous job I came under dreadful "Hidden" bullying where for 5 years I had been working for about half minimum wage because the bully had control of the payroll and I was forced to work a great many hours without overtime pay.

Sahn