Communicating With My Aspie Guy

Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ] 

Teach51
Veteran
Veteran

23 Dec 2019, 12:02 pm

is so bloody hard . After a separation of a month, both being totally miserable, we are back together again. I keep misinterpreting his behaviour and thinking that he is abusive and then suddenly I see that it's a kind of unfiltered verbal release of experiences and emotions that completely knock me out of sync.

After three and a half years I am just beginning to see the first sparks of true intimacy and affection. The fact that he tries to modify what upsets me and explain the things that he has no control of means a great deal.
When he has been painfully blunt and reactive, and I thought this was due to a hard heart, he looks at me honestly and says" I'm just autistic."
My strongly emotional character makes it hard for us to communicate verbally at times, but the bond we have is so strong. I finally believe that though he has a serious problem keeping boundaries, he is a really good person. We laughed so much today. We had so much fun.

His autism and my ADD and CPTSD have made us suspicious of each other, afraid to be authentic and vulnerable, both having so much pain in our past. Does the secret to loving someone lay in throwing out all preconception of what a relationship should be, total acceptance of the fundamental differences?
I don't know.
All I know is that I feel a strong bond with him, and f..k yes it totally feels like he is from a different planet but it seems to be a more transparent and authentic one.