Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

WildColonial
Veteran
Veteran

04 Mar 2020, 8:43 pm

I’ve found that meditation really helps me. I can practice mindfulness while doing something else, say, walking my dog or cooking. I can follow guided meditations reasonably well. However, I’m not good at just sitting still and clearing my mind. Does anyone have any tips?

“‘Why was I chosen?’ ‘Such questions cannot be answered,’ said Gandalf. ‘You may be sure that it was not for any merit that others do not possess: not for power or wisdom, at any rate. But you have been chosen, and you must therefore use such strength and heart and wits as you have.’”

elbowgrease
Veteran
Veteran

04 Mar 2020, 11:13 pm

Don't try to clear your mind.
You won't.
Focus on something specific. And be ok with it when your mind wanders.
Then focus on the specific thing again.
Try to feel your bones. Then the space between your bones. Then your breathe in the space between your bones. Then your breathe in the space between your bones being what moves your body.
Try to feel acupressure point k1 (roughly).

Think about what a bird thinks about while it stands on a post.

revlar
Raven
Raven

13 Mar 2020, 11:48 am

Try concentrating on your breath (lungs mostly). Count an inhale as 1 then the exhale as 2 then inhale as 3 and so on up to 10. Then restart from one. Keep doing this and let your mind wander when it wants to, but then eventually come back to your breath and counting.

sarahgood
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

21 Apr 2020, 5:48 am

revlar wrote:
Try concentrating on your breath (lungs mostly). Count an inhale as 1 then the exhale as 2 then inhale as 3 and so on up to 10. Then restart from one. Keep doing this and let your mind wander when it wants to, but then eventually come back to your breath and counting.

The best advice!

Sahn
Veteran
Veteran

21 Apr 2020, 7:16 am