People get mad at me over doing things I like too much

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

HacKING
Pileated woodpecker
Pileated woodpecker

17 Mar 2020, 7:03 pm

I have this issue where anytime I find an activity that I love so much that it makes some of my stress away and I can engage in a lot, someone gets mad at me for being so "distant" or "aloof" and makes it impossible for me to engage in this activity or enjoy it because they constantly put pressure on me to pay attention to them and it's frustrating.

Fnord
Veteran
Veteran

17 Mar 2020, 7:08 pm

What they're likely expressing is called "Jealousy". They're likely jealous of the activity that has taken your interest away from them, and they cannot stand it. My dad did the same thing when I started taking music lessons, when I became interested in theatre, when I bought my first Ham radio, when I started studying astronomy, and when I started dating. Some people simply cannot stand to see you being happy unless you are admiring them.

No love for Hamas, Hezbollah, Iranian Leadership, Islamic Jihad, other Islamic terrorist groups, OR their supporters and sympathizers.

BTDT
Veteran
Veteran

17 Mar 2020, 8:13 pm

My partner benefited by knowing I had Aspergers as my seemingly obsessive interests were just me being me. :D

I could do them during the week and compromised by having a "together day" on the weekends.

Dear_one
Veteran
Veteran

17 Mar 2020, 9:18 pm

HacKING wrote:
I have this issue where anytime I find an activity that I love so much that it makes some of my stress away and I can engage in a lot, someone gets mad at me for being so "distant" or "aloof" and makes it impossible for me to engage in this activity or enjoy it because they constantly put pressure on me to pay attention to them and it's frustrating.