Page 1 of 2 [ 28 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Loborojo
Veteran
Veteran

04 May 2020, 7:25 am

I have heard, many a time, when getting into a debate or discussion. I wind myself up, near a meltdown...I 'lose' the plot? My emotions take over..and that is when they hurl abuse at me by saying; "You act like an 8-year-old. I have seen it recently in a Netflix movie, and I went down memory lane, so I began to wonder, what is it that makes them call us childish? And is this typical an insult for an Asperger..how many of you here, have been called childish. And maybe I am a split personality, I just cannot seem to separate the immature self from the mature intellectual that I am...when they say that, it really stings...The last time I was called that was when I was an English instructor.

A colleague and I debated about noise-he made some, and kept me on my toes. Is it the emotional thing that they cannot handle and think is the temperament of a child that throws tantrums. Is that why so many children are attracted to me because they feel I still am a kid inside? Are neurotypicals more mature or is it all pretend?

Last year my sister called me childish, because I had dare to ask for an explanation as to why she finished her letter with 2 kisses xx, and I had sent 3...wheter she had actually opted for 2 kisses and not 3 and why...and so on...details, yes...

Joe90
Veteran
Veteran

04 May 2020, 11:51 am

I hate being called childish. It feels like a true insult to me and often triggers off a bad response.

starkid
Veteran
Veteran

06 May 2020, 6:19 pm

Children have not yet learned how to handle their emotions, so they get really upset and have outbursts and tantrums. So yes, if your emotions "take over" and you have a meltdown, people see that as something a child would do. They don't understand that a meltdown is not the same thing as a tantrum, they don't understand that something called alexithymia can make it difficult to handle emotions, etc.

I love belko61
Veteran