Page 1 of 2 [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Kitty4670
Veteran
Veteran

02 Oct 2020, 4:10 pm

I’m NOT good with passwords, I need to change 62 passwords 8O I’m not good with making up names, I used to be creative when I was in a teenager. I need to change my Apple ID, I changed the password, the password wasn’t strong enough, I changed it again, there need my current ID, stupid me forgot it already :roll: :cry:

AuroraBorealisGazer
Veteran
Veteran

02 Oct 2020, 4:23 pm

I just had to change a ton of my passwords too (my Google account said they were compromised). It's a hassle and it stresses me out. I try to maintain a list of my important passwords, but I rely on saved passwords for most things. They say that biometric encryption may soon replace passwords, so I hope that makes things easier.

kokopelli
Veteran
Veteran

02 Oct 2020, 5:47 pm

Whenever possible, I use nonsense pass phrases. They are relatively easy to remember but are hard to guess if done right.

Usually they are four to six words. My worst ever was something like "He went to the desert seeking fine woolen roses, but all he found was a goose and nine feet."

Let's consider four to six word pass phrases.

If you randomly choose them out of a dictionary of 1,000 words, then there would be:
4 words: 1000^4=10^12 possibilities.
5 words: 1000^5=10^15 possibilities
6 words: 1000^6=10^16 possibilities

If the dictionary size was 50,000 words (always try to use at least one unusual word) and you have
4 words: 50000^4=6.25*10^18 possibilities
5 words: 50000^5=3.125*10^23 possibilities
6 words: 50000^6=1.5625*10^28 possibilities

And that's all with a space between each word and all the same case. Mix up the cases and it gets better. And maybe add some punctuation.

Even better is to misspell one or more words.